Posted in Moody, Musings, Personal

The Farce of Contemporary Hip-Hop

Contemporary hip-hop is as fake as a square two-cent penny and everyone is trying to spend that crap on a Furby. I don’t listen to the radio anymore. I hate hearing the lyrics so simple, vulgar, and pointless that either have the words are censored or a two-year old can sing the entire song like repeating a presidential list of Fry words. Don’t get me wrong. I know that music evolves and there are some great artists out there repping the craft; but, what happened to the real backbone of hip-hop? What happened to relevance and feeling?  What happened to relating to life and not expecting drug money glamour and shiny plastic round bottoms?  None of that is for me.  Most of us are everyday people who are cool like that, right? I miss the golden age of hip-hop. I guess that’s why I love the movie, Brown Sugar, so much.  A love letter to hip hop.  Now, it’s more like a Dear John.

I wrote a poem about it on my other blog.  Here’s the link.  And you thought you knew

Farce

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

2 thoughts on “The Farce of Contemporary Hip-Hop

Leave a Reply

