Posted in Musings, Post a Day

Hope fails if temporary

tearsI recently suffered a setback.  Knowing better, but feeling mortal, I got my hopes up on an endeavor that I considered the perfect opportunity for me.  For a little over a week, I sweetly suffered through daydreams. Decor. Quotes. Dreams of desktop adorableness and rewarding work. Then, as if sharing the punishment of Prometheus, my daydream dissolved in a mere nanosecond. To say that I was upset, is a severe understatement. I cried the tears of a grieving soul. I cried until my eyes and cheeks were red and raw. I cried for the loss of the daydream and the happiness that I envisioned as its accomplice. Mainly, I cried because I felt like a failure, unequivocally unaware of my shortcomings. I rested and then I cried some more.
Until now, I never understood how the loss of hope, even a hope so small that it could sit on the tip of a needle, could feel like the loss of a loved one, a part of myself, or a piece of my soul. But I am reminded that the loss of hope is temporary. It won’t last forever. This daydream wasn’t for me. Someone else is enjoying the visions of my future and that hurts me a little, but it doesn’t end me. This setback is only temporary.  Who knows what tomorrow will bring.  And just like it never happened, I will dream and hope again.

Temporary

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

3 thoughts on “Hope fails if temporary

  1. This was beautiful, hopeful, heartbreaking, and then hopeful again. Your writing is lovely. I especially enjoyed the line “a hope so small that it could sit on the tip of a needle.” Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

