Posted in Post a Day

For the Weekend

Here I dream of that languid lifestyle enjoyed by so few. I picture myself sitting in the comfortable Homes and Garden photographed and staged window seat (that I do not own, but have on my wish list) of my home office, lounging in my PJs, reading one of my thirty library books (that are due), drinking tea from a proper tea service (also on my wish list). There is no media, no phone, no computer, no connection to the outside world. For just a few hours, I enjoy life au naturale. The dishes are done. The laundry is done. The shopping is nicely put away and a crockpot is lovingly tending to a roast (which my husband does not eat) for Sunday dinner. It is sunny and cool like the autumn mornings you see in Stars Hollow. And most importantly, my agenda for the day is selfishly centered around me and my think time. Across the room, is a beautiful antique desk and built-ins that are organized by Martha. Because of the therapeutic joy my Happy Planner has bestowed upon me, I have begun scrapbooking. Once I finish reading this chapter, I will turn on Gilmore Girls or some Duke or Coltrane and begin setting my planner for the next couple of weeks. I will write a few blogs, check the roast, and maybe go for a bike ride. I will snack on cheese, crackers, and grapes (sometimes in the form of wine). Most importantly, I will be at peace with the beautiful stillness of time standing still.
My life is full of meetings, appointments, work, and volunteering. I love every minute of it. But, my lifestyle is a languid dream of peace, self-discovery, and comfort.

Lifestyle

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

4 thoughts on “For the Weekend

    1. It is my mental go-to place. Even if I built the space, I don’t think it will be half as beautiful and peaceful as the daydream.

      Like

Leave a Reply

